Jemila Abdulai — My Experiences Working in Anglophone and Francophone Africa

Jon Boafo
9 min readAug 26, 2020
Photo by Jemila Abdulai

Jemila has been around my circle of friends since I moved to Ghana in 2012. She grew up in Ghana, but, like most people I gravitate towards, she has lived and traveled all over the world.

After graduating from the prestigious Wesley Girls’ High School in Cape Coast (Ghana), she moved to the United States. While there, she earned a Bachelor’s from Mount Holyoke College and Master’s degree from John Hopkins University’s School of Advanced International Studies.

She moved back to the continent and has been busy as a digital strategist and marketer, organizing events, consulting for international organizations, all while running Circumpsecte.com, an award-winning blog turned digital platform and company.

Jemila is also one of the few Ghanaians that I know that speaks French and has a wealth of experience working all throughout Africa. So, it was logical to hear about her experiences about the difference between Anglophone and Francophone African countries.

Over to you Jemila.

I have an economics background that has led me to doing a lot of work in Francophone African countries. I studied French throughout my education in Ghana, up until high school and in university.

--

--

Jon Boafo

I write about life, sports, marketing and my experiences traveling all over the world. www.jonboafo.com